Prof CHG. Irvine Memorial Scholarship

Research Grant Applications close 30 April, 2013
NZERF invites applications from interested parties for funding or projects in the field of Equine Research. Applications are to be made on the Research Grant application forms available from the NZERF Office or from the website.

C.H.G. Irvine Memorial Scholarship
Professor Irvine was a founding member of the NZ Equine Research Foundation, and it’s Vice Chairman at the time of his retirement from the Board. Prof Irvine had a distinguished career in veterinary science, initially as a veterinarian in Southland, and later as a world renowned scientist while working at Lincoln College, specializing in thyroid and reproductive function in horses. He also served as veterinary consultant to the Harness and Thoroughbred Racing codes in New Zealand for many years, and throughout his career he remained accessible to veterinarians for advice and information. These contributions to veterinary science were recognised by the receipt of many awards, including a Doctor of Science from Massey University, a Doctorate of Veterinary Science from Sydney University, its highest award, the Bledisloe Medal from Lincoln University and The New Zealand Order of Merit for Services to Veterinary Science in 2000. The NZERF Board is extremely pleased to be able to offer the C.H.G. Irvine Memorial Scholarship in recognition and appreciation of Prof Irvine’s enthusiasm and work for on the Board and his scientific achievements.

An award may be given to an applicant for a Research Grant and may be be used as part of a larger research project or as a standalone award. Applications should be made on the Research Grant application forms available from the NZERF Office or from the website.
Applications close on 30th April each year.

Parties interested in contributing to the C.H.G. Irvine Memorial Scholarship Fund should contact the NZERF Office

List of Recipients – Prof Irvine Memorial Scholarship

Established in 2011

2013. Miss Olivia Patty, University of Waikato (inaugural awardee)

2014. Dr Alexandra Leander, University of Waikato

2015. Dr Francis Peat, Colorado State University